Light Horses | In hand, novelty, ridden, showing & equitation.

Light Horses Schedule

In-Hand Judge: Heather Cardwell
Ridden Judge: Natalie Marie
Judging: 10:00am
Entry Fee: £6.00 per class (pre-booked) or £7.00 on the day. Postal entries close on Thursday 21st June 2018
£1 per entry will be go towards first aid costs

Affiliated to the Welsh Pony and Cob Society & the Side Saddle Association

Rosettes up to 4th place will be awarded in each class. Large classes may be split depending on the number of entries. Some classes may be amalgamated if there are insufficient entries.

Please keep your dog on a lead at all times around horses.

Exhibitors are reminded that they are to abide by showground rules as stipulated:

  1. British safety standard approved hard hats must be worn as is required by exhibitors competing in the equine
  2. All vehicles & animals entering the show ground must be covered by at least third party insurance & have their respective licenses for travel & passports, in compliance with DEFRA
  3. No horse under the age of 4 should be ridden on the show ground
  4. Stallions and colts to be handled by competent young handlers
  5. Cantering is strictly forbidden on the showground
  6. Equitation classes are to be shown in a snaffle and no spurs

We would like to thank all of our kind sponsors in this section and to all of the judges who have kindly agreed to attend the 75th Bury Agricultural Show

Need this schedule?



  1. Best Condition Horse/Pony
  2. Young stock 3 years and under
  3. Welsh Section A & B
  4. Welsh Section C & D
  5. Open Showing under 2hh
  6. Open Showing over 2hh
  7. Pure & Part Bred Arabs
  8. Coloured Spotted & Palomino
  9. Veteran Horse/Pony 15 + years
  10. Open show hunter Horse/Pony
  11. Young Handler up to 12 years old as of January 1st 2015
  12. Mountain & Moorland Showing (Excluding Welsh)


  1. Horse/Pony most like its owner
  2. Bonniest Horse or Pony
  3. Horse/Pony the judge would most like to take home


  1. Lead Rein Showing (grass reins permitted)
  2. First Ridden Showing (rider to be off lead rein)
  3. Ridden pure & Part Bred Arabs
  4. Ridden Veteran Horse/Pony 15+ years
  5. Novice Equitation up to 12 years old as of January 1st 2015
  6. Junior Equitation (rider 13 years to 16 years)
  7. Senior Equitation (rider over 16 years)
  8. Riding Club Horse/Pony
  9. Ridden Coloured, Spotted & Palomino
  10. Ridden Welsh Section A & B
  11. Ridden Welsh Section C & D
  12. Open Showing under 2hh
  13. Open Showing over 3hh
  14. Open Ridden Hunter
  15. Open Ridden Mountain & Moorland Type (Excluding Welsh)

Cups & Prizes

Trophies for all first placings

  • Sash & Shield; In-Hand Champion and Reserve Champion
  • Sash & Shield; Ridden Champion and Reserve Champion
  • C. Challenge Cup
  • Light Horse Trophy
  • Llewenaue Blighter Perpetual Trophy
  • B. Tatlock Challenge Cup
  • D. Warburton Perpetual Challenge Cup
  • Mosely Challenge Cup
  • Thomas Eddleston Memorial Trophy
  • RDRC 1976 Equitation Cup
  • Vincent Cryne Memorial Trophy
  • Battersby Trophy
  • Miller Shield

Trophies will be awarded in the Light Horse secretary’s tent between rings 1 & 2 once the championships have finished. If you have any enquiries, please ask a steward on show day or report to the light horse secretary’s tent. Results will be  available to view online shortly after the show and will appear in the following year’s show day programme.

Light Horses Entry Form

Pre-entry entry fee £6 per entry. On the day entry fee £7 per entry.
First aid cost £1 per entry.

By checking the box below, you agree to abide by Society rules

Please now send the correct fee to:

Mrs Janine McWilliams
24 King St, Heywood, Lancashire, OL10 1BA
Mob: : 07751 383211

Please make cheques payable to: BURY & DISTRICT AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY

Download printable entry form

Light Horses Secretary Details

Secretary: Mrs Janine McWilliams
Address: Address: 24 King St, Heywood, Lancashire, OL10 1BA
Mob: 07751 383211

Pin It on Pinterest